Brief Description

Founded in 1939, Middle East University is an institution of higher education in Beirut, Lebanon that belongs to the global education network of the Seventh-day Adventist Church. This network is the second largest Christian education system in the world, which includes over 110 institutions of higher education.

From its establishment, Middle East University has strived to be a diverse institution, accepting and serving people from all cultures and backgrounds. The significant international presence on campus over the years has contributed to the rich cultural heritage MEU offers. Currently, Middle East University is proud to have students, faculty, and staff representing over 30 countries, fostering an intellectually and internationally open environment.


The University campus is situated on 30 hectares of green hillside in Sabtieh, east of Beirut. A refreshingly green environment just at the edge of the busy metropolitan environment of Beirut, the campus provides local students with an idyllic location to study and socialize. International students benefit from the peaceful and secure campus while also having easy access to the vibrant lifestyle of Beirut. With a breathtaking view overlooking Beirut and the Mediterranean Sea, visitors to campus are continually impressed by MEU’s incredible location.

View Larger Map

Accreditations and Affiliations

All degrees offered by Middle East University are fully accredited and equalized by the Lebanese Ministry of Education and Higher Learning. Additionally, the Accrediting Association of Seventh-day Adventist Schools, Colleges, and Universities (AAA: has granted full recognition of Middle East University’s programs, including the Master’s programs.

MEU is also a member of the Arab Association of College Registrar’s and Admission Officers (Arab-Acrao: and of the Universities Association of Lebanon (, which comprises 17 member institutions.

Moreover, as part of the Seventh-day Adventist education system, the second largest Christian education system in the world, MEU is connected to over 110 colleges and universities throughout the world. As part of this vast network, students of MEU have many possibilities to pursue further study in a wide range of countries abroad. MEU also has international partnerships with Andrews University, Michigan, USA; Montemorelos University, Nuevo León, México; Universidad Adventista del Plata, Argentina; and Seminar Schloss Bogenhofen, Austria.

Middle East University partners directly with Andrews University, enabling students to either do part of their Andrews University degree on the MEU campus and then complete it in the U.S., or to complete the Andrews degree concurrently with their MEU degree while on the MEU campus. This second option is available for particular degrees in Theology, Business, Biology, English, and Graphic Design. Andrews University is accredited by The Higher Learning Commission in the United States. More information about Andrews University’s accreditation status is found here:

A view of the campus in the 1950s.

The Adventist Accrediting Association team visiting MEU in 2019.

MEU Fast Facts

  • Founded: 1939

  • Affiliation: Middle East University is the only higher-education institution that belongs to the global education network of the Seventh-day Adventist Church in the Middle East.

  • Location: Middle East University is located in Beirut, Lebanon.

  • Total Campus Size: 30 acres.

  • History: Founded in 1939 as Adventist College of Beirut in Mouseitbeh, Lebanon. Moved to Sabtieh, Lebanon in 1946 and renamed Middle East College. Accredited to offer studies in higher education in 1949. Formally and legally renamed Middle East University (MEU) in 2001.
  • Faculties: 4

    • Faculty of Arts and Sciences
    • Faculty of Business Administration
    • Faculty of Education
    • Faculty of Philosophy and Theology
  • Degrees Offered: 9 undergraduate and 4 graduate.


Middle East University is comprised of four faculties: the Faculty of Arts and Sciences, the Faculty of Business Administration, the Faculty of Education, and the Faculty of Philosophy and Theology.

The Faculty of Arts and Sciences

The Faculty of Arts and Sciences includes the Department of Arts and Design and the Department of Natural Science and Health.

The Department of Arts and Design offers an undergraduate degree in Graphic Design and Digital Media. The Department of Natural Science and Health offers an undergraduate degree with the option of two different emphases (General Biology or Biology with Pre-Med).

The mission of the faculty is to provide students with the wisdom, knowledge, and skills to be competent, compassionate, and committed, both personally and professionally. The faculty offers academic programs of excellence and aims to prepare graduates for successful entry into the professional workforce or provides the platform for further specialized postgraduate research, health, and medical studies.

The Faculty of Business Administration is comprised of the Department of Business Administration and the Department of Computing. 

The Department of Business Administration offers an undergraduate degree in Business Administration with the option of six different emphases (Accounting, Finance and Banking, Information Systems, International Business, Management, and Marketing), and a graduate degree in Business Administration. The Department of Computing offers two undergraduate science degrees in Computer Science and Information Systems. 

The mission of the Faculty of Business Administration is to equip and inspire the next generation of business professionals, grounding them in a solid foundation of integrity, competence, and service. Students are equipped with high quality competencies, knowledge, and skills to be innovative, to master analytical tools, and to think critically in order to play a prominent role in the global environment. They are inspired to live lives of integrity, with values, and ethical professionalism, serving society with compassion and faith.

The Faculty of Education includes the Department of English and Modern Languages and the Department of Teacher Education.

The Department of English and Modern Languages offers an undergraduate degree in English. The Department of Teacher Education offers an undergraduate degree in Elementary Education, two Teaching Diplomas in Elementary or Secondary Education, and two graduate degrees in Education and Teaching. 

In harmony with the mission of the University, the Faculty of Education provides a unique learning opportunity for those dedicated to inspiring young minds by integrating and practicing the principles of true redemptive education. The faculty provides high quality programs that prepare professional educators who are good communicators, skilled researchers, and lifelong learners, inspiring their students to the same ideals.

The Faculty of Philosophy and Theology consists of the Department of Religion and the Department of Mediterranean and Near Eastern Studies. 

The Department of Religion offers two undergraduate degrees in Religion and Theology. The Department of Mediterranean and Near Eastern Studies offers an undergraduate concentration in Islamic Studies, and two graduate degrees in Islamic Studies and Mediterranean Studies. 

The mission of the Faculty is to equip converted Adventist gospel workers and leaders to think theologically, engage globally, and live biblically. The Faculty supports and helps nuance MEU’s spiritual, ethical, and service values and ethos. Faculty members bring rich experience in pastoral care and nurture as well as spiritual leadership and biblical insight in their personal interaction with both students and other MEU faculty and staff.